Timothy James Lambert
1 min readAug 10, 2022

--

Still, I cannot let go of the idea that the unshrunk cloth saying must somehow belong, if only for the imagery of the cloth as patch and the genitals as a rent, a split or division.

The word translated as unshrunk is agnaphos, from alpha (as a neg. prefix) and the same as gnapheus. Gnapheus: one who cleans woolen cloth.

The saying is saying that you shouldn't make a pad from uncombed wool.

When I was a teen I was in a motorcycle accident and got road rash on my arm. My friend whose father was a chiropractor put a wad of cotton directly on the wound and then wrapped it.

When I tried to remove the dressing, the cotton had grown into the wound. My friend's father ended up picking out the strands of cotton with tweezers.

My point was going to be that the menstrual blood could congeal, but now I'm thinking that this pair of sayings isnn't referring to sanitary pads specifically, but is instead providing advice concerning bandages in general.

Don't use uncombed wool because when you go to change the bandage, it will pull at the wound. This goes together with the advice about changing the used and bloody bandages.

--

--

Timothy James Lambert

Author of The Gnostic Notebook series, stand-up comedian, and Gnostic. Known as the Judas Iscariot of Gnosticism for revealing that which is not to be revealed.